RSS Feed

Mad Woman

Posted on

My daughter and I were playing a game on her iPod where you have to identify logos. Not to brag, but I was pretty good at it *pats back*. I have always enjoyed commercials and ads, and evidently I am a good target audience seeing as how well the message sticks with me.

This is the first commercial I remember from my childhood:

Since then I’ve been exposed to a plethora of advertising campaigns, from “Time to make the doughnuts” to “got milk?” (hmmm…those would be good together), from singing raisins to talking M&Ms.

These ads have stuck with me in strange ways. The other day I had run out of deodorant, so (confession time) I used my husband’s. I found that it worked really well, like better than mine. Does that mean I’m less womanly? I mean, “Secret is strong enough for a man, but pH balanced for a woman.” Or am I pH un-balanced?

Orange juice. Anybody else remember the big push: “Orange juice. It’s not just for breakfast anymore”? As a kid, we literally would only drink orange juice at breakfast, in these tiny juice glasses. It was like liquid gold, apparently. Now, we drink it all willy-nilly, any old time of day. Coincidence? Hmmm.

I find it amazing how these from my childhood still go through my head once in a while. Don Draper would be proud. {Aside: if you don’t know Don Draper is, find out. Stat!}

I need to come up with an ad campaign for cleaning the kids’ bedrooms. Something catchy, with a jingle. Something that will both make them want to clean it and keep it clean, as well as make them feel good for doing it.

STOP EVERYTHING!!

I may be onto something here. I think I may have just cracked the Parenting Code. Shhh! Don’t tell anyone, *especially* not the kids!

Gotta go! I have some jingles to compose.

8 responses »

  1. You are an awesome writer! As I read thru the different blobs I can here your voice loud and clear! Inspiring!

    Reply
  2. Dale Carnegie told the story that they turned the tricycle and wagon into a chop-choo train and it had to make the pit stop in the kids room every night to pick up toys…. yes I am reading “how to win friends and influence people” again!

    Reply
  3. Carrie Nelson Stephenson

    Ok Cathy, I loved this blog entry! I am exactly the same way, I can remember super obscure commercials and jingles from when I was a kid. I also love singing them all the time to my kids and watching the predictable eye rolling, and comments like, ” Geez mom, that’s just scary.” Also, I literally thought until this moment that we were the only family that rationed out the oj, in aforementioned juice glasses, and I to this day laugh about that and call it liquid gold! So awesome! Keep up the great writing, you are very talented, and it’s great fun to read!!

    Reply
  4. Loved the post! Confession-I use my husbands deodorant every day. It works so much better lol.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

